Monuments

Eternal flame and Monument to Soviet Soldier

The memorial complex was mounted in Niasvizh in post-war period in memory of the liberation of the town from German troops.

Niasvizh was captured by advancing German forces almost without a blow at the end of June 1941. Soviet army was retreating rapidly. Only small group of some dozen soldiers in the western part of the town resisted. Nevertheless, many retreating soldiers of the Red Army were taken prisoners in the town and its outskirts.

For couple of days the town housed the headquarters of the 2nd Panzer Group of the General Guderian. In his memoirs the German General mentioned the visiting of the palace. After the occupation administration had been established, the ghetto was set up in the town. However, all the Jews of Niasvizh had been executed or run away in the forests by the summer of 1942. The only gypsy camp in the district was equally destroyed. The Belarusians and Poles, not only communists and Komsomol members but also priests were executed. More than 2 thousand inhabitants of the district of Niasvizh were sent to forced labor in Germany, some of them have never returned.

The period of German occupation ended on the 2nd of July 1944, when Soviet troops entered Niasvizh . These were the soldiers of the 193rd infantry unit and the 65th army under the command of Andrei Fralienkoŭ and guerrillas of the 27th Čapajeŭ brigade. The Germans stubbornly defended the town, and the Soviet troops sustained heavy causalties during the storm. The next day several German tanks that were retreating turned up in the town from the east. Another fight started, but the tanks were thrown back soon.

Today, in the memory of those events the 2nd of July is celebrated as the Day of the town in Niasvizh .

Holocaust Memorial

Soon after the seizure of Niasvizh in June 1941 the Nazis started to implement the policy of liquidation of the Jews in the occupied territories. A ghetto was organized in the south-west part of the town, where all the Jews of Niasvizh and outskirts were driven. On 30 October 1941 the Nazis selected craftsmen and valuable specialists, and the remaining were condemned to death. The Jews had no idea why they were driven to the park until they saw a dug trench, more than 30 m long. The shot down were thrown into there, and some were still alive after the trench was backfilled. At least 1500 Jews were shot dead at the park meadow. Within a week the occupation authorities shot dead about 1200 people more on the road to Snoŭ. Under the guidance of teacher Shalom Cholawski was organized underground resistance among the survived, which started to collect weapons and explosives. In July 1942 the prisoners of the ghetto stirred up a revolt that was suppressed violently. Only few survived and battle through to the forests.

As a rule, local people tried to help the Jews, sometimes risking their life. It is known, for example, the Niasvizh Catholic dean Mečyslaŭ Kubik was arrested and shot dead for assisting the Jews.

Bust of Mikołaj Krzysztof "the Orphan" Radziwiłł

This monument was erected in the honor of the Prince Mikołaj Krzysztof "the Orphan" Radziwiłł who was statesman and military leader of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, traveler, writer, philantropist, the first ordinate of Niasvizh .

Mikołaj Krzysztof got the nickname "Sirotka" ("Orphan") in early childhood. The legend tells that one day the King of Poland and Grand Duke of Lithuania Sigismund Augustus met an unattended child in one of the rooms of the palace. The King calmed him down and caressed, "Oh, my poor little forgotten sirotka!" Since then, the nickname "Sirotka" has stuck to Mikołaj Krzysztof.

Mikołaj Krzysztof studied in a Protestant school in Niasvizh founded by his father. In his youth he traveled a lot in Western Europe, studied in Strasbourg and the University of Tübingen. After the death of his father, under the influence of the Polish Jesuit preacher Piotr Skarga he publicly renounced Calvinism, adopted Catholicism and, correcting the sins of his father, took over to eradicate Protestantism in his possessions.

In 1583-1584 Mikołaj Krzysztof "the Orphan" Radziwiłł made a pilgrimage to the Holy Land, during which he visited Crete, Cyprus, Syria, Palestine and Egypt. Mikołaj Krzysztof narrated about his journey in the diary had been repeatedly published in different European languages. In Jerusalem, the prince joined the Order of the Knights of the Holy Sepulchre. It is their sign that can be seen on the monument. On his return, he began an extensive construction in Niasvizh: he set a stone castle next to his father's wooden one, built the Church of Corpus Christi, the Benedictine and Bernardine monasteries. He invited Italian architect Giovanni Maria Bernardoni for the design and construction of the church. Radziwiłł gathered a portrait gallery, a library, an arsenal in the new castle. Sirotka laid one of the first parks in Alba near Niasvizh in the country. Thanks to Mikołaj Krzysztof, a new town was built within just thirty years with the due account for the defense art of that age.

The monument to Mikołaj Krzysztof "the Orphan" Radziwiłł rightfully took his place in the alley of famous figures of the town of Niasvizh in 1992.

Bust of Tomasz Makowski

Tomasz Makowski is known as an author of engravings for the books and maps, in particular, for the first known plan of Niasvizh.

Nothing is known about the childhood and youth of Makowski. Around 1600, he entered the service of Mikołaj Krzysztof "the Orphan" Radziwiłł. There Makowski was engaged in the creating of engravings on copper to the books published in typography of Niasvizh . Around 1603 Makowski created an engraving with the view of Niasvizh – the oldest extant image of the town. The engraving of Makowski became the main source for the recovery of appearance of the lost or reconstructed buildings. Thanks to his engravings we can also learn how used looked other castles of the Radziwiłłs and cities of the Great Duchy of Lithuania: Biržai, Viĺnia, Hrodna, Koŭna, Klieck and Troki. At the same time the master was involved in the creating of a map of the Great Duchy of Lithuania. Subsequently Makowski worked in other publishing houses, making illustrations of a variety of books. So, to his authorship belong illustrations of two panegyrics and famous horse-breeding treatise "Hippica". He also created the engraving "The siege of Smolensk" and "The view of Moscow". In some cases, Tomasz Makowski only copied on the boards already finished paintings, but his talented performance keeps its own artistic value. In 1992, his monument was mounted in Niasvizh.

Bust of Giovanni Maria Bernardoni

Close to the monument of Mikołaj Krzysztof "the Orphan" Radziwiłł was mounted a bust of Giovanni Maria Bernardoni, Italian Jesuit monk, the first architect who worked in the Baroque style in Poland and the Great Duchy of Lithuania.

Giovanni was born in northern Italy, worked as a bricklayer, at the age of 23 came to Rome to join the Order of Jesuits and became an architect. Jesuit brothers sent him to the construction of the main temple of the Order in Rome Il Gesu, where he worked for 6 years. Since 1573 Bernardoni worked on the construction of churches in Naples, Abruzzo.

Bernardoni comes at the invitation of Mikołaj Krzysztof "the Orphan" Radziwiłł to Niasvizh in 1586 and stays there for as long as 13 years. The Jesuit church becomes his main project in Niasvizh . The main church of the Jesuits in Rome - Il Gesu - became the prototype of the Order’s church. Beside a sacred function, the must have been the prince tomb, as well. Multidimensional puppose of the church required precise alignment of his project. In November 1593 the construction of the church was completed and the first worship was held there.

The Church of the Jesuits in Niasvizh is the first building in the territory of Poland in the Baroque style.

In 1599, Bernardoni went to Krakow, where he built the church of St. Peter and Paul. In addition, he completed projects of the monastery of St. Bernardin in Kalwaria Zebrzydowska and St. Casimir in Viĺnia. But the architect did not see the completion of the work, he died in 1605.

In 1992, a bust of Giovanni Bernardoni by sculptor Mikalaj Humilioŭ was mounted in the Old Park.

Bust of Władysław Syrokomla

Władysław Syrokomla (his original name was Ludwik Kondratowicz) is a well-known Belarusian and Polish poet, writer and ethnographer. His historical and ethnographic essay "A journey through my erstwhile neighborhood" is of great value for the history of the town as Syrokomla had been studying many archival documents, dispersed currently throughout Eastern Europe.

The poet was associated with Niasvizh from his youth. Syrokomla studied in the local school at the Dominican Convent in the 1830s. In 1840-1844 he worked, first as a manager assistant of the possessions of the Princes Radziwiłł in Niasvizh and, later, as an archivist in the castle archive. In 1844, Ludwik Kondratovich got married to Paulina Mitraszewska in Farny Church.

In addition to "A journey of a familiar man through his familiar land", Syrokomlya wrote 6 sonnets dedicated to Niasvizh . His work "Illuminations" tells the tragic story he heard from the mouth of an elderly dweller of Niasvizh.

The poet's memory is perpetuated by a memorial plaque installed in the church of Corpus Christi in 1902. The czar’s authorities did not allow to install the plaque in the town. However, residents of Niasvizh found a solution: a memorial plaque was installed in the church in 1902 and was preserved till present.

In ninety years, in 1992, in the memory of the writer a bust was mounted next to other prominent people of the town.

Bust of Jury Niasvizhski

The question of affiliation of Jury Niasvizhski to Niasvizh remains unsolved to this day. However, it is possible to talk with a high probability about the Prince that participated in the Battle of Kalka as the first Niasvizh inhabitant, the memory of which is kept on the pages of the ancient chronicles.

The Battle of Kalka was the first significant battle between the Ruthenian-Cumans and Mongolian troops. May 31, 1223 the army of Ruthenia was completely defeated, and most of the princes suffered death on the battlefield. Jury Niasvizhski was mentioned in chronicles as one of six princes, retreating from the battlefield, but overtaken and martyrized. All the prisoners still alive were put under the boards on which the Mongols-victors had a feast after the battle.

This is the only mention of the Prince of Niasvizh on the pages of ancient Russian chronicles. Later historians and genealogists found out on the basis of circumstantial evidences that Jury Niasvizhski was probably a son of the Pinsk Prince Jarapolk and a grandson of the Turaŭ Prince Jury Jaraslavič. As a representative of the prince dynasty of Ruriks, Jury came into the possession of a principality in Niasvizh at the beginning of the XIII century during the period of territorial fragmentation in the Ruthenian lands.

Archaeologists did not manage to find out the location of the town in the XIII century. Thus, quite a number of researchers insist on using 1446 as the date of the first record of Niasvizh. However, there is a possibility that the original Niasvizh could be located on the territory of one of the ancient settlements to the east of the modern town. Therefore, to this day there is no clarity in the initial history of Niasvizh. However, this did not imp the installation of a bust in honor of Jury Niasvizhski in 1992.

Bust of Jakub Kolas

One of the busts represents Jakub Kolas, a classic of Belarusian literature and the national poet of Belarus, whose real name is Kanstancin Mickievič. The future writer was born in the lands of Radziwiłł near Stoŭbcy. From 1898 to 1902 Mickievič studied at Niasvizh pedagogical seminary. The time, spent in the town, had a positive impact on the works of the writer, filling it with new bright images that were further reflected in his works. It is believed that the story of one of his most famous poems "Symon-Muzyka" could be inspired by memories of Niasvizh.

After Niasvizh period future classic worked as a teacher in schools in Palessie. He was imprisoned for social activities. After the World War Jakub Kolas wrote many works that became classics of Belarusian literature. In 1926 he was awarded the honorary title of the national poet of Belarus.

Today Niasvizh State College and one of the streets of the town are named after the name of Jakub Kolas. In 1992 in honor of the classic a bust was mounted.

Памятники

Вечный огонь и памятник советскому солдату

Мемориальную композицию в память об освобождении города от немецких войск установили в Несвиже в послевоенное время.

Несвиж был захвачен наступающими немецкими войсками в конце июня 1941 года практически без боя. Советские войска быстро отступали, сопротивление оказала только группа из нескольких десятков солдат в западной части города. Тем не менее, в городе и окрестностях попали в плен многие отступающие солдаты Красной армии.

Несколько дней в городе размещался штаб 2-й танковой группы генерала Гудериана. Сам немецкий генерал в своих мемуарах упоминал о посещении дворца. После установления оккупационной администрации в городе было создано гетто, однако к лету 1942 года все евреи Несвижа или были расстреляны, или бежали в леса. Был уничтожен и единственный в районе цыганский табор. Расстреливали также белорусов и поляков, и не только коммунистов и комсомольцев, но также ксендзов. Более двух тысяч жителей Несвижского района направились на принудительные работы в Германию, некоторые из них не вернулись.

Время немецкой оккупации закончилось 2 июля 1944 года, когда в Несвиж вошли советские войска. Это были солдаты 193-й стрелковой дивизии 65-й армии под командованием Андрея Григорьевича Фроленкова и партизаны 27-й бригады имени Чапаева. Немцы упорно обороняли город, и во время штурма советские части понесли серьезные потери. На следующий день в городе появились несколько немецких танков, отступавших с востока. Завязался ещё один бой, но вскоре танки были отброшены назад.

Сегодня в память о тех событиях 2 июля отмечается в Несвиже как День города.

Памятник жертвам Холокоста

Вскоре после захвата Несвижа в июне 1941 года нацисты начали реализовывать политику уничтожения евреев на оккупированных территориях. В юго-западной части города было создано гетто, куда согнали всех евреев Несвижа и окрестностей. 30 октября 1941 года нацистами были отобраны ремесленники и ценные специалисты, - остальные были осуждены на смерть. Никто из евреев не знал, зачем их сгоняют в парк, пока они не увидели выкопанный ров длиной более чем в 30 метров. Туда сбрасывали расстрелянных, притом некоторые из них оставались живы после того, как ров был засыпан. Всего на Выставочной поляне было расстреляно по меньшей мере 1500 евреев. В течение недели оккупационные власти расстреляли еще около 1200 человек по дороге на Снов. Под руководством учителя Шолома Холявского в гетто из числа уцелевших было создано подполье, которое начало собирать оружие и взрывчатку. В июле 1942 года узники гетто подняли восстание, которое было жестоко подавлено. Лишь немногим удалось спастись и прорваться в леса.

Как правило, местные жители старались помогать евреям, иногда рискуя собственной жизнью. Известно, например, что за помощь евреям был арестован и расстрелян католический несвижский декан Мечислав Кубик.

Бюст Николая Христофора Радзивилла Сиротки

Данный памятник установлен в честь князя Николая Христофора Радзивилла Сиротки, государственного и военного деятеля Великого княжества литовского, путешественника, писателя, мецената, первого несвижского ордината.

Прозвище Сиротка Николай Христофор получил в раннем детстве. Легенда рассказывает, что однажды королю польскому и великому князю литовскому Сигизмунду Августу попалась в одной из комнат дворца оставленное без присмотра дитя. Король его успокоил и приласкал: "Ах, ты мой бедный всеми забытый сиротка!" С тех пор прозвище "Сиротка" так и пристало к Николаю Христофору.

Учился Николай Христофор в основанной отцом протестантской школе в Несвиже. В юношеские годы много путешествовал по Западной Европе, учился в Страсбурге и Тюбингенском университете. После смерти отца, под воздействием польского проповедника-иезуита Петра Скарги публично отрекся от кальвинизма, принял католичество и, исправляя грехи отца, взялся искоренять протестантизм в своих владениях.

В 1583-1584 гг Николай Христофор Радзивилл Сиротка совершил паломничество в Святую Землю, в ходе которого он посетил Крит, Кипр, Сирию, Палестину и Египет. О своём путешествии Николай Христофор рассказал в своем дневнике, неоднократно издававшемся на разных европейских языках. В Иерусалиме князь вступил в орден рыцарей Гроба Господня – именно их знак можно увидеть на памятнике. По возвращении на родину он начал широкое строительство в Несвиже: рядом с деревянным отцовским замком поставил каменный, построил костёл Божьего Тела, бенедиктинский и бернардинский монастыри. Для проектирования и возведения костёла он пригласил из Италии архитектора Джованни Мария Бернардони. В новом замке Радзивилл собрал галерею портретов, библиотеку, арсенал. В Альбе, под Несвижем, Сиротка заложил один из первых в стране парков. Благодаря Николаю Христофору всего за тридцать лет был возведен новый город с учетом достижений оборонного искусства эпохи.

Памятник Николаю Христофору Радзивиллу Сиротке по праву занял свое место на аллее славных деятелей города Несвижа в 1992 году.

Бюст Тамаша Маковского

Томаш Маковский известен как автор гравюр к книгам и географическим картам, в частности, первого известного плана Несвижа.

О детстве и молодости Маковского ничего не известно. Около 1600 года он поступил на службу к Николаю Христофору Радзивиллу Сиротке. Здесь Маковский занимался созданием гравюр на меди к книгам, издававшихся в Несвижской типографии. Около 1603 года Маковский создал гравюру с видом Несвижа – старейшее сохранившееся до наших дней изображение города. Гравюра Маковского стала основным источником для восстановления облика ряда утраченных или перестроенных зданий. Благодаря его гравюрам мы также можем узнать, как выглядели другие замки Радзивиллов и города ВКЛ: Биржи, Вильно, Гродно, Ковно, Клецк и Троки. В это же время мастер участвовал в создании карты Великого княжества Литовского. Впоследствии Маковский работал в других типографиях, занимаясь иллюстрированием самых разных книг. Так, его авторству принадлежат иллюстрации к двум панегирикам и знаменитому коневодческому трактату "Гиппика". Он также создал гравюры "Осада Смоленска" и "Вид Москвы". В ряде случаев Томаш Маковский лишь переносил на доски готовые картины, однако его талантливое исполнение сохраняет самостоятельную художественную ценность. В 1992 году ему был установлен этот памятник в Несвиже.

Бюст Джованни Мария Бернардони

Рядом с памятником Николаю Христофору Радзивиллу Сиротке установлен бюст Джованни Мария Бернардони – итальянскому монаху-иезуиту, первому архитектору, работавшему в стиле барокко в Польше и Великом княжестве Литовском.

Джованни родился на севере Италии, работал каменщиком, в 23 года пришёл в Рим, чтобы вступить в орден иезуитов и стать архитектором. Братья-иезуиты направили его на строительство главного орденского храма в Риме Иль-Джезу, где он трудился 6 лет. С 1573 года Бернардони работает на строительстве церквей в Неаполе, Абруццо.

Бернардони приезжает по приглашению Николая Христофора Радзивилла Сиротки в Несвиж в 1586 году и остается здесь на целых 13 лет. Главным его проетом в Несвиже становится костёл иезуитов. Прототипом костёла стал главный орденский храм иезуитов в Риме – Иль Джезу. Храм кроме сакральной функции должен был быть приспособлен под княжескую усыпальницу. Многоплановое назначение костёла требовало точной выверки его проекта. В ноябре 1593 года строительство костёла было закончено и состоялось первое богослужение.

Костёл иезуитов в Несвиже считается первой постройкой на территории Речи Посполитой в стиле барокко.

В 1599 году Бернардони уезжает в Краков, где строит костёл святых Петра и Павла. Кроме этого он выполнил еще проекты монастыря св. Бернардина в Кальварии Зебжидовской и костёла св. Казимира в Вильно. Но завершение работы архитектор уже не увидел, он умер 1605 году.

В 1992 году в Старом парке был установлен бюст Джованни Бернардони работы скульптора Николая Гумилёва.

Бюст Владислава Сырокомли

Владислав Сырокомля (настоящее имя – Людвик Кондратович) – известный белорусский и польский поэт, публицист и краевед. Его историко-этнографическое сочинение "Путешествия по моим былым околицам" представляет большую ценность для изучения истории города, поскольку Сырокомля изучал многие архивные документы, разбросаные в настоящее время по всей Восточной Европе.

Поэт с молодости был связан с Несвижем. В местной школе при доминиканском монастыре Сырокомля учился в 1830-е годы. В 1840-1844 годах он работал вначале помощником управляющего имениями князей Радзивиллов в Несвиже, а позднее архивариусом в замковом архиве. В 1844 году Людвик Кондратович венчался с Полиной Митрашевской в фарном костёле.

Кроме "Путешествий по моим былым околицам", Сырокомля написал 6 сонетов, посвящённых Несвижу, а его произведение "Иллюминация" передаёт трагическую историю, услышанную из уст пожилой несвижанки.

Память поэта в городе увековечивает мемориальная доска, установленная в костёле Божьего тела в 1902 году. Установить доску на территории города не разрешали царские власти, однако несвижане нашли решение: памятная доска была установлена в костёле в 1902 г. и сохранилась до нашего времени.

Через девяносто лет, в 1992 году, в память о писателе был установлен бюст рядом с прочими выдающимися людьми города.

Бюст Юрия Несвижского

Вопрос принадлежности Юрия Несвижского к городу Несвижу до сегодняшнего дня остаётся нераскрытым. Однако с большой долей вероятности о князе-участнике битвы на Калке можно говорить как о первом несвижанине, память о котором хранится на страницах древних летописей.

Битва на Калке была первым существенным сражением между русско-половецким и монгольским войсками. 31 мая 1223 г. войско Руси было полностью разбито, а большая часть князей постигла смерть на поле боя. Юрий Несвижский в летописях упоминается в числе шести князей, отступавших с поля боя, но настигнутых и мученически убитых. Всех пленных ещё живыми положили под доски, на которых после битвы триумфаторы-монголы устроили пир.

Это единственное упоминание о несвижском князе, попавшее на страницы древних русских летописей. Позднее историки и генеалоги на основе косвенных данных выяснили, что Юрий Несвижский вероятно является сыном пинского князя Ярополка и внуком туровского князя Юрия Ярославича. Как представитель княжеской династии Рюриковичей в начале XIII в., в период территориальной раздробленности на русских землях, Юрию перешел во владение Несвижский удел.

Археологи не смогли выяснить место нахождения города XIII в., и поэтому ряд исследователей настаивает на использовании 1446 года в качестве даты первого достоверного упоминания Несвижа. Однако есть вероятность, что первоначальный Несвиж мог находиться на территории одного с городищ на востоке от современного города. Таким образом, до нашего времени нет ясности в начальной истории Несвижа, тем не менее, это не помешало установки в 1992 году бюста в честь Юрия Несвижского.

Бюст Якуба Коласа

Один из бюстов изображает классика белорусской литературы и народного поэта Беларуси Якуба Коласа, чьё настоящее имя – Константин Михайлович Мицкевич. Будущий писатель родился на радзивилловских землях недалеко от Столбцов. С 1898 по 1902 год Мицкевич учился в Несвижской учительской семинарии. Время, проведённое в городе, положительно повлияло на творчество писателя, наполнив его новыми яркими образами, которые впоследствии нашли отражение в его произведениях. Считается, что сюжет одной из самых известных его поэм, "Сымон-музыка", мог быть навеян и воспоминаниями о Несвиже.

После несвижского периода будущий классик работал учителем в школах на Полесье, находился в тюремном заключении за общественную деятельность. После Первой мировой войны Якуб Колас пишет множество произведений, которые стали классикой белорусской литературы. В 1926 году ему было присвоено почётное звание народного поэта Беларуси.

Сегодня именем Якуба Коласа названы Несвижский государственный колледж и одна из улиц города. В 1992 году в память о классике был установлен бюст.