Exhibit of the month

Exhibit of the month

экспонат месяца

A kontusz sash. Silk, silver thread, weaving. Size: 430,0 х 38,0 cm. It got to the fund in 2012 from a private collection.

Silk sashes were a part of male dress in the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth in the 18th century; they were used for girding a kontusz – an upper garment, that’s why they were called “kontusz”. These days silk sashes made with gold are considered to be high quality works of art.

In the corners one can see the image of a lamb with a flag and letters "P.J.", due to that one can understand that the object was made at Paskhalis Yakubovich manufactory in Lipkovo (near Warsaw) in 1791-1794. The founder of the manufactory, merchant Paskhalis Yakubovich, in 1791 having Stanisław August Poniatowski’s royal charter received a nobility title and coat-of-arms – a lamb in the green field on the grass holding a flag with its right leg. After that the owner used the coat-of-arms with the initials “P.J." to mark the Lipkovo sashes until 1794 when the enterprise closed down.

The décor of the upper and lower parts of the sash is based on the double repetition of flower trees growing from wreaths. The centre of the composition is decorated with a big bluish and pink flower with small narrow leaves. The flower and the stem are decorated with small stylised light blue and pink flowers. In the central part there are yellow and pink transverse bands depicting the background flowers. They alternate with an ornamental pattern with light blue and pink flowers and green petals on it. On the borders there are images of tree branches in blossom. The ends of the sash are decorated with fringe. In the sash corners there is an image of a lamb with a flag and letters "P. J. ".

The kontusz sash is a decoration of the regular exposition of Slutsk Sashes collection hall in the National Historical-Cultural Museum and Reserve Niasvizh.

Экспонат месяца

Экспонат месяца

Экспонат месяца

экспонат месяца

Пояс кунтушовый. Шелк, нить серебряная, ткачество. Размер: 430,0 х 38,0 см. В фонд поступил в 2012 году из частной коллекции.

Шелковые пояса в XVIII в. были частью мужского костюма Речи Посполитой, ими подпоясывали кунтуш – верхнюю одежду, из-за чего пояса получили название “кунтушовых”. В настоящее время шёлковые золототканые пояса воспринимаются обществом, как произведения искусства высокого уровня.

В углах пояса выткано изображение агнца с флагом и буквами "P.J.", благодаря которому можно утверждать, что предмет создан на мануфактуре Пасхалиса Якубовича в Липкове (под Варшавой) в 1791-1794 годах. Основатель мануфактуры, купец Пасхалис Якубович в 1791 году по грамоте короля Станислава II Августа Понятовского получил дворянский титул и герб – в зеленом поле барашек на траве, который держит правой ногой флаг. После чего данный герб с инициалами «P.J.» владелец использовал для маркировки Липковских поясов до 1794 года, когда предприятие перестало существовать.

Декор голов пояса строится на двойном повторении цветочных деревьев, которые прорастают из венков. Центр композиции украшает крупный голубовато-розовый цветок с мелкими узкими листьями. Цветок и стебель украшают мелкие стилизованные голубые и розовые цветы. На центральной части поперечные полосы основного желто-розового с изображениями цветов фона, чередующихся с орнаментом голубых, розовых цветов и зеленых лепестков. Бордюр составляют изображения цветущих ветвей. К концам пояса пришита бахрома. В углах пояса соткано изображение агнца из хоругвью и буквами "P. J. ".

Пояс кунтушовый украшает постоянную экспозицию коллекционного зала "Слуцкие пояса" Национального историко-культурного музея-заповедника "Несвиж".